Crochet Elmo Soft Toy

31 Jul

I think I say this about every project, but seriously, this is my most favourite project YET!

Image

I found the pattern at Maggie Makes Stuff and thought it would be ideal for my wee girl who loves Elmo but doesn’t like any of the Elmos we’ve found in store that sing, dance, laugh, play the drums, and so on. I ended up using Moda Vera “Honey Joy” yarn from Spotlight and initially bought three balls thinking that Elmo was going to be a lot smaller than what he actually turned out to be – I ended up using 6 balls all up. I tried using the recommended 3.5mm hook to start off with but it was impossible to crochet with so ended up using a 6mm crochet hook and feeling for each stitch with my fingers. The eyes, nose, and mouth were crocheted with a 4mm hook, with three extra increase rows for the mouth and one extra increase row (and double the extra rows before decreasing) for the eyes and nose. The end result is an Elmo about the size of an infant or small toddler!

Image

Image

Elmo took just over a week to finish, with crocheting most evenings for an hour or two. When I showed my daughter the final result this morning, her wee face was so adorable. Here’s a few photos of her and her Elmo.

Image

I’m sure Little Miss C and Elmo are going to have plenty of fun adventures growing up together!

3 Responses to “Crochet Elmo Soft Toy”

  1. Allison Csogi May 31, 2013 at 5:13 am #

    This is wonderful!

  2. Eugenia November 26, 2013 at 12:30 pm #

    Hi, I tried to search the pattern, but a crochet ninja link doesn’t work.Please have you a copy of the pattern? thank you
    Eugenia

Leave a Reply

