Crochet Toddler Cardigan

10 Jun

At last! It’s complete!

It’s taken me a wee while to complete this version of Cat’s One Piece Wonder baby cardigan in a larger size for my 18 month old daughter.

Basically, I took the measurements off the baby one I made earlier, then increased the number of stitches to match up roughly with one of her current cardigans. Here’s my daughter modelling her new cardigan:

For those that are interested, here’s a brief description of what I did :

RIGHT FRONT:

ch 61.

Row 1: 15 sc (start in 2nd ch from hook), then 45 dc. Ch 3 and turn.

Row 2: 45 dc (ch 3 is the first dc), then 15 sc, ch 1 and turn.

Row 3: 15 sc (ch 1 is the first sc), then 45 dc. Ch 3 and turn.

Repeat Rows 2 and 3 until there are 18 rows.

RIGHT SLEEVE:

Row 1: 15 sc, 10 tc (treble crochet), then ch 46. (You can probably make it with fewer chains as the sleeves are a bit too long for my daughter!)

Row 2: 7 sc (start in 2nd ch from hook), then 47 dc, 15 sc. Ch 1 and turn.

Row 3: 15 sc (ch 1 is the first sc),  47 dc, 7 sc, ch1 and turn.

Repeat Rows 2 and 3 until Row 19 (18 rows of dc/sc stitches in total).

BACK:

Row 1: 15 sc, 10 tc, ch 38.

Row 2: Starting in 4th ch from hook, 45 dc, then 15 sc. Ch 1 and turn.

Row 3: 15 sc (ch 1 is the first sc), 45 dc. Ch 3 and turn.

Row 4: 45 dc (ch 1 is the first dc), 15 sc. Ch 1 and turn.

Repeat rows 3 and 4 until 31 rows across.

LEFT SLEEVE:

Same as right sleeve.

LEFT FRONT:

Same as right front, except only 15 rows across.

Row 16 (starts at top of cardigan for button holes): ch 3, skip a stitch, then 13 dc. Ch 3, skip a stitch, then 10 dc. Ch 3 skip a stitch, then 10 dc. Ch 3 skip a stitch, then 10 dc. Ch 3 skip a stitch, then 10 dc. (Should make 6 buttonholes in total).

PUTTING IT TOGETHER:

I followed the rest of Cat’s One Piece Wonder instructions from here.

For the collar, I added 1 extra row of sc to make it longer, then another row with 11 sc until the fold of the sleeve, then dcs along the back until the other sleeve fold, then 11 sc to the front.

Hopefully that makes sense for anyone who cares!! (And for me when I try to figure out what I did.)

18 Responses to “Crochet Toddler Cardigan”

  1. cathy June 11, 2012 at 7:42 pm #

    Oh well done!!! cheers Cat.

    • Denice April 12, 2013 at 12:45 am #

      I am starting the 4 one of this pattern. People are amazed by the pattern thanks a bundle!

  2. rosella March 27, 2013 at 10:25 pm #

    thank you so much for a lovely easy pattern I made and looks so nice

    • uni January 31, 2014 at 9:06 am #

      hi, do you know how many grams of yarn you used

      thanks

  3. paulette mason April 19, 2013 at 1:32 am #

    cat hello id love to show you what I made for my first Great granddaughter to be in may ,but I dont know how to send off my phone which is where I took pic to send to the new grandmother to be it turned out so pretty ! I was so proud off it as I haven’t crocheted In so long .I am attempting to do a new one now for another grand child which is 2 im trying it with a h or j hook with sugar’n cream yarn????it seems to be loose but I think it will be ok its summer now an she will be able to wear it for a while I think?any pointer ???
    thank you so much for the pattern wish I had more patterns as easy to do .GREAT TUT.

  4. Susan Jakab April 22, 2013 at 12:48 pm #

    I love it.I did it in 0-3m and it is too small.I would like to have it in 6-9 months.Please send it to me.Thanks! Sincerely , Susan

  5. Yvette O'Brien June 24, 2013 at 2:07 pm #

    Is there a link to a PDF of this pattern anywhere?

  6. Yolanda September 7, 2013 at 9:09 am #

    Isn’t it 46 dc? I am referring to the back section of the toddler sweater. Please let me know if I am counting the stitches wrong, thanks!

  7. mary October 11, 2013 at 3:46 pm #

    Look Great! Thank You for sharing your talent with us. I would like to make one for my grand daughter she is 2 years how much more stitches would I have to do increase

  8. Simply_Keeva March 14, 2014 at 10:40 am #

    What size hook did you use?

  9. Dagmar April 12, 2014 at 7:21 am #

    I have made the smaller version of this sweater and i love it. I am making your pattern now for bigger size but im wonderring if the back shouldn’t be 36 rows total as the front pieces are 18 rows. Can you check that for me please.

    • Dagmar April 12, 2014 at 7:22 am #

      And thank you so much for doing this pattern for us it look so adorable.

    • Dagmar April 16, 2014 at 2:16 pm #

      Ops sorry i figured it out i forgot about the overlap.

  10. Dorothy Atkinson May 12, 2014 at 1:51 pm #

    I finished the cardigan. I have a picture of it. I’m going to FB to find out how to upload it. I hope you come out with some more baby things. I love the way you write your patterns. It’s as if you are with me telling me what to do. Thank you Dorothy

  11. Sue March 3, 2015 at 1:17 pm #

    Just completed my first One Piece Wonder sweater with great success thanks to your clear directions.The design is so pretty. The vertical pattern lines work well with the variegated yarn I used from my stash. Plan on trying a solid color for the next sweater. Do you have a matching hat pattern? Thank you for sharing!

  12. dianelouw April 2, 2015 at 8:23 pm #

    Reblogged this on Diane's Thoughts and Things and commented:
    An easy pattern!!

  13. Nancy November 19, 2015 at 7:24 am #

    Love your sweater

  14. nancy November 19, 2015 at 9:28 am #

    Great work

Leave a Reply

