Cot Quilt

4 Jun

My plan for the long weekend was to finish the size 2 cardigan I’d started for my daughter but I ran out of wool around three quarters of the way through and Spotlight didn’t have any left in that colour. I put my name down for the next order of that particular wool, and came home empty-handed and a bit dejected. Until I remembered that I had another project that I’d been meaning to start..

Almost a year ago now, I bought some “cot panels” from Spotlight to make a cot duvet cover for my daughter. However, the size of the panels wasn’t the same as any standard cot-sized duvet, so it ended up being an empty duvet cover with no duvet insert. I decided to unpick it and start again, except this time, turning it into a quilt instead.

This was a fairly simple project. I had the cot panel for the top, the coordinating fabric for the back, and some left-over cotton/bamboo batting from my sleeping bag project for the middle. I used basting spray to keep the three layers together, then machine stitched around the outside and each of the elephants on the panel. I made my own binding from some left-over flannelette using Heather Bailey’s continuous quilt-binding instructions, and a couple of hours later, the quilt was complete.

Leave a Reply

